The Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) is a schedule of transportation improvements in the MORPC transportation planning area (Delaware and Franklin counties; Violet and Bloom townships in Fairfield County; New Albany, Pataskala and Etna Township in Licking County; and Jerome Township in Union County). The TIP includes investments in highways, public transit, bikeways, pedestrian facilities, bridges, traffic signals and other aspects of the transportation system over a four-year period. It also includes planning and engineering studies that may lead to construction in later years. The TIP considers effects upon low-income and minority residents and air quality.

Although the TIP covers a four-year period, it is typically updated (completely revised and adopted) every two years. This allows for a smoother transition between the expiring TIP and updated TIP, and ensures the region is continually meeting requirements for public involvement, air quality, environmental justice and fiscal constraint.

TIP Update for State Fiscal Years 2018-2021

MORPC has prepared the biennial update of the TIP. The updated TIP comprises State Fiscal Years 2018-2021.

Executive Summary

Final 2018-2021 TIP 

Project Listing Sorted By Agency

Appendix 1 – Air Quality Conformity Determination

Appendix 2 – Public Involvement 

Appendix 3 – Environmental Justice Technical Analysis 

Copies of the Final 2018-2021 TIP are also available at: MORPC’s office, 111 Liberty Street, Columbus, Ohio, 43215 or by calling (614) 228-2663. After final approval by the governor and U.S. Department of Transportation, copies will be distributed to all branches of the Columbus Metropolitan Library and the main libraries in Delaware, Licking, Fairfield, and Franklin counties.

Below is the schedule for completion and adoption of the 2018-2021 TIP.

March 24 – Final Draft TIP Available

March 24 – Public Comment Period Opens

April 3 – Final Draft TIP Presented to Community Advisory Committee

April 4 – Open House, 3:30-6:30 p.m.

April 5 – Final Draft TIP Presented to Transportation Advisory Committee

April 13 – Final Draft TIP Presented to Transportation Policy Committee

April 21 –Public Comment Period Closes

May 11 – Approval by Transportation Policy Committee

The Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT), local governments, public transit and other agencies – with the involvement of area residents – have been cooperatively identifying priorities for the update of the TIP, including the use of MORPC-attributable funds. The public participation process for the TIP also meets the public participation requirements for COTA's and the Delaware Area Transit Agency's (DATABus's) programs of projects.

The Final Draft TIP was available for public review and comments from March 24 to April 21, 2017. Below is a link to an interactive map that allows users to see project locations and view comments submitted on specific projects.

TIP for State Fiscal Years 2016-2019

Below is an overview document of the 2016-2019 TIP, which is still in effect, and a series of inserts on various categories of projects and activities in the TIP. They are sized for either 8-½” x 11” paper or 11” x 17” paper.

TIP Summary (all documents below combined)

MORPC adopted the TIP for State Fiscal Years (SFY) 2016-2019 on May 14, 2015. It became effective on July 1, 2015, following approval by the Governor and the U.S. Department of Transportation. Below are links to the final TIP documents.

Final 2016-2019 TIP

Map and Map Key

Project Listing Sorted by Agency

The charts below summarize $2.1 billion programmed for SFY 2016-2019.

Funding Charts

Paper copies of the SFY 2016-2019 TIP are available at: MORPC's office, 111 Liberty Street, Suite 100, Columbus, OH 43215, by calling 614.228.2663, or at all branches of the Columbus Metropolitan Library and the main libraries in Delaware, Licking, Fairfield, and Franklin counties. 

For more information contact Nathaniel Vogt at 614.233.4183 or Ronni Nimps at 614.233.4159.