# **Public Works Integrating Committee**

District 3 (Franklin County)

Phone: (614) 228-2663 Fax: (614) 228-1904

Policies & Criteria Working Session 2 – FY26
Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission
111 Liberty Street, Suite 100 | Columbus, Ohio 43215

Friday, April 12, 2024 10:30 am

### **AGENDA**

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. Welcome and Introductions
- 3. Approval of Minutes of March 8, 2024 enclosed
- 4. OPWC Updates Jennifer Kline, OPWC
- 5. NRAC Appointments
  - Jeff Anderson City of Upper Arlington, Parks and Recreation
  - Matt Brown Franklin County Engineer's Office, Development Coordinator
- 6. Consideration of Draft SFY26 Applicant Manual
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Adjournment

If you require special assistance, please notify Tom Graham at 614-233-4193 or tgraham@morpc.org

#### Ryan Andrews Joe Martin Nancy White Kenneth Wilson Bradley Foster

**Darryl Hughes** 

**Ann Aubry** 

Staff:

Thomas Graham Shelby Oldroyd c/o MORPC 111 Liberty Street Suite 100 Columbus, OH 43215

## The next PWIC meeting is:

Friday, May 10, 2024, at 10:30 a.m., MORPC Board Room

**Parking:** When parking in MORPC's parking lot, please be sure to park in a MORPC visitor space or in a space marked with a yellow "M". Handicapped parking is available at the side of MORPC's building. Electric vehicle charging stations are available for MORPC guests. Indoor bike parking is available for MORPC guests.

Transit: MORPC is accessible by COTA routes 5 and 8.

# **District 3 Public Works Integrating Committee**

FY26 – Policies & Criteria Working Session 1

# **Meeting Minutes**

Friday, March 8, 2024 10:30 a.m.

Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission 111 Liberty St., Suite 100 Columbus, OH 43215

### **Members Present**

Barb Cox (a)
Kelly Scocco (a)
Ann Aubry
Ryan Andrews
Jeannie Willis (a)
Darryl Hughes
Steve Farst (a)
James Jewell
(a) = alternate member

### <u>Guests</u>

Ronni Nimps, Franklin County Engineer's Office Jennifer Kline, OPWC

### **MORPC Staff**

Thomas Graham

# 1. Pledge of Allegiance

The meeting was called to order at 10:30 a.m. and Tom Graham led the committee in the Pledge of Allegiance.

### 2. Welcome and Introductions

Tom Graham took attendance.

### 3. Election of Officers

The committee recognized that both Cornell Robertson and Jennifer Gallagher were no longer members of the committee, leaving the Chair and Vice-Chair positions vacant. The committee entertained a motion to elect Darryl Hughes as Chair, and Ann Aubry as Vice-Chair for the remainder of the current term. Ryan Andrews made the motion, James Jewell seconded, and the motion was approved.

### 4. Approval of Minutes of December 1, 2023 Meeting

Chair Hughes entertained a motion for the committee to approve the December 1, 2023 meeting minutes. Darryl Hughes moved to approve the minutes, Ryan Andrews seconded the motion, and the motion was approved.

## 5. OPWC Updates

Jennifer Kline updated the committee regarding returned SCIP and LTIP funding which allowed more SFY 2025 project to be awarded.

# 6. NRAC Appointments

Tom Graham explained that there were vacant seats on the NRAC.

Chair Hughes entertained a motion to appoint Shannon Sorrell to the NRAC. Darryl Hughes moved to approve the motion, Ryan Andrews seconded the motion, and the motion was approved.

### 7. Discussion of Potential Modifications to the District 3 Methodology

Tom Graham presented potential modifications to the District 3 Applicant Manual in advance of the SFY 2026 SCIP/LTIP funding round. Tom presented a change to allow projects with utility expansion components to compete for LTIP funding, which would align with statewide OPWC guidance. The committee was supportive of this change.

Tom presented potential revisions to the A3 Crashes criteria, stating that applications in recent rounds had struggled to score high in this criterion. The proposed change would reduce the thresholds for scoring points in the criteria, and additionally provide more clarification to applicants regarding how staff evaluates crashes. The committee was supportive of these changes.

Tom presented a potential revision to the A5 Public Health criteria to award points to projects mitigating flooding of any structure as opposed to only basements. The committee was supportive of these changes.

Tom presented a potential revision to the A11 Area with Special Conditions criteria which would consider commercial facilities in scoring. The committee asked that staff explore opportunities to include this in the A6 Economic Development and report back at the April meeting.

Tom presented a potential revision to the S10 Construction Start criteria to further encourage timely project delivery. The committee did not feel this change was needed.

### 8. Other Business

Ann Aubry asked staff to share these potential revisions with eligible applicants and accept feedback. Staff stated that they would be sure to do this and would report any feedback to the committee in April.

# 9. Adjournment

Chair Robertson adjourned the meeting at 11:02 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas Graham District 3 Liaison